Joshua’s Reflections from India 2015

     “Third time is a charm…” is the often repeated saying; to which I usually respond “I don’t believe in luck.” I firmly believe that God is in control of all things, big and little events; small and large circumstances. All that being said, by God’s grace I have been able to travel to India three times. This third trip has definitely been my favorite for a number of reasons.

Joshua with GIlbert & Benny Rajan

Joshua with GIlbert & Benny Rajan

     Each time I go back it seems like I am able to connect with certain people a little bit more. This time I really enjoyed having the opportunity to spend time with Paul and his family, especially his two sons Gilbert and Meshach. I had spoken with them before, but this trip we were able to connect on a new level. I enjoyed the opportunity to sit down with Gilbert and just talk about life. Meshach and I connected as we tried our hand at being pharmacists, at the medical clinic outreach. Riding with them in the car and playing games strengthened the special bond that we have in Christ.

Joshua teaching a lesson on Revelation 2-3 with 2 intepreters

Joshua teaching a lesson on Revelation 2-3 with 2 intepreters

     I also am grateful for the opportunity that I had to teach, along with Pastor Ike, a portion of the book of Revelation to the people at the conference. What a great privilege it is to present God’s Word to a group of people who are ready to listen. The final Monday morning that we were in India we were scheduled to go a VBS at Torbay house to observe…or so I thought. Upon arriving, I quickly learned that we were suppose to teach a lesson and then direct the activities with the kids for the next 2-3 hours! Pastor Ike nominated me to teach. Those of you who know me, know that I like to prepare and type things out before I speak, so being put on the spot was a good challenge for me. By God’s grace I was able to teach the account of Joshua and the Israelites defeating Jericho. It was fun having the kids act it out with me as we marched around the “city” seven times on the seventh day.

Joy & Joshua on the day we wore Indian dress

Joy & Joshua on the day we wore Indian dress

     Another reason that made this trip one of my favorites was the fact that my girlfriend Joy was able to go along! 🙂 Because most Christians over there practice arranged marriages, we were not to mention the fact that we were courting, although Paul Rajan had the special privilege of telling a select number of people and even teasing us some times! It was simply a great experience to work and minister together! Praise the Lord!

– Joshua

Categories: 2015 India Trip | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

