Lessons God taught me in India

Written by Joshua Steiner

I am so grateful to God for the time that I had the privilege of spending in India. As the days continue to pass, marking the time since I returned from India, it can be easy to forget the many lessons that God taught me while I was over there.  Everything from, learning about myself and the pride that can sneak in so easily without even notifying me that it is there; to the importance of demonstrating love to everyone with whom I have contact. God also reinforced the desire that He has given me to teach His Word to people no matter what the age, social status, or color of their skin.

One of the biggest lessons that He taught me, that I trust I will never forget, is that the people in India, and around the world for that matter, are human beings just like us. They have the same kind of thoughts and desires. Though they may do some things a little different, eat different food and have different customs, they are still people who God loves and desires to save. There was never a specific time that this lesson “hit me.” Instead God slowly opened my eyes as I interacted with people and observed the thousands, upon thousands of people that surrounded me.

Even here in the States it can be so easy to look at crowds of people and just see them as a group of human beings; however, I believe that God wants us to look at all the people around us as He looks at them. When God sees people, He sees men and women, boys and girls who all possess a soul. Each one of these people will either spend eternity in heaven with Him, or in hell suffering punishment forever. Is this how I see people?

I wish that I could say that when I was in India this is all I thought about as I looked at the thousands of people around me, but that was not the case. There were a couple times when those thoughts did come in my head; and when they did, I was sobered. I was burdened for the millions of people around the world and even in our backyard who need the Lord. Paul asks in Romans 10:14-15 “How then will they call on Him in whom they have not believe? How will they believe in Him whom they have not hear? And how will they hear without a preacher? How will they preach unless they are sent? Just as it is written ‘How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news of good things!’” I am called by God to tell these people. Paul says that we are ambassadors for Christ. We have the privilege of going and telling the Good News: “He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him” (2 Cor. 5:21). Each one of us, as a follower of Christ, is to share Christ with those around us. Many of us will never go to a foreign country to share Christ, but we still have the responsibility right now where we are living.

God taught me this lesson, but I am still learning it. I do not always see people as God sees them. I do not always share Christ with them when I am given the opportunity. My prayer is that God would continue to work in my heart, giving me a burden and a passion for the lost souls around me. My prayer is that when I look at people, I do not just see faces, but I see souls for whom Christ died to save. I pray that God would do the same work in your heart as well. God can teach us lessons when we travel 8,000 miles to India; and He can also teach us lessons from the comfort of our own home. Will you join with me in surrendering to God’s will in our lives as He works through us?

Categories: 2011 India Trip | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Lessons God taught me in India

  1. AJ

    So true!! The Lord has been pointing out to me recently how prideful I am and how much I think about myself instead of those around me. I really have to spend time with God and His people to get God’s perspective of how He sees “souls”- lost. They need saving! And He wants to use ME to tell them.

  2. Dear brother I could read ur blogs just browsing in net .n much excited.remembering the moment n fellowship

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

